New Zealand Languages

English is the major official language. Maori is the second official language.

Maori is the native language of New Zealand's indigenous people (the Maori) and although it is not commonly spoken as a first language, Maori can be seen every day in place names and heard on the radio and television, on marae (a Maori meeting house), and increasingly in schools and kindergartens.

A recent survey by the New Zealand government shows about 130,000 people speak some Maori.